Beef industry representatives from around Australia have come together in Canberra for Cattle Council of Australia’s (CCA) first Pilot Policy Council meeting.

Cattle Council CEO Travis Tobin said Policy Council members came together to set the organisation’s strategic policy priorities for the next 12 months.

“Policy Council members agreed on five areas that will be a focus for Cattle Council in 2021,” Mr Tobin said.

“Greater trade liberalisation, improved national and international integrity systems, better recognition and incentives for environmental work, and more effective communications were key pillars.

“The Policy Council will develop a these priorities in detail over the coming weeks.

“Policy Council members were recently appointed by the CCA Board, following an open call selection process.

“Dr Beth Woods, former Director-General of the Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries was also recently appointed by the CCA Board as the Policy Council’s Independent Chair.

“I congratulate Beth and all members of the Policy Council on their appointments and look forward to working with them as we progress a positive and effective policy agenda for beef cattle producers.”

2021 Cattle Council Pilot Policy Council Members

  • Alastair Rayner
  • Alex Ball
  • Alison Hamilton
  • Amanda Roghan
  • Anthony ‘Bim’ Struss
  • Bob Barwell
  • David Allen
  • David Foote
  • David Hill
  • David Stoate
  • Digby Corker*
  • Emily Pullen
  • Geoff Birchnell
  • Geoff Pearson*
  • Jenny O’Sullivan
  • John McArthur
  • Kitty Sheridan
  • Lloyd Hick*
  • Markus Rathsmann*
  • Olivia Lawson*
  • Paul Cusack
  • Paul Saward*
  • Peter Hall
  • Tracey Gowen
  • Tracey Martin
  • Tracy Sullivan

* Also a member of the CCA Board

MEDIA CONTACT: Robert Herrick, 0409 219 527